On coming out…

So today is National Coming Out Day…

Nope I’m straight. I like looking at pretty ladies too much and I’ve seen Jason Gilbert’s ass. No thanks.

But I am the proud Uncle and Step-uncle of a wonderful Nephew and Step-niece that are gay. I’m the proud friend of several folks who are gay.

See the thing is: I don’t care. I don’t care who you choose to love, who you’re sleeping with or any of that as long as it’s not hurting someone else. It’s none of my or anybody else’s damned business.

My response to someone coming out to me is pretty much the same as if they tell me they drink a different beer than I do. Shrug. OK. It shouldn’t have to be an event. It shouldn’t be a big deal. It just is.

I really hope that’s what will happen in the future for everyone but right now, sadly, that’s not the case. There are still people that will blow a gasket if they find out someone they know is gay. They’ll throw them out of the house, throw them out of their lives, ostracize them, label them or in some places torture and kill them. It’s just not right.

In my opinion, love is love. People are people. You don’t have to agree with me to respect me and I think that’s all LBGTQ folks are looking for. You don’t have to agree with them to respect them, and I respect the hell out of them.

I’ve watched a friend be denied opportunities because it was suggested she was gay. I’ve seen other things that would make you cringe. It takes some fortitude to take it and move on. I definitely respect that.

If you want more info on National Coming Out Day, check the website http://www.hrc.org/resources/entry/national-coming-out-day

Leave a Reply

