Experimentation

I’ve been having fun lately trying out different combinations of flours. I accidentally made some crepes last night instead of pancakes with a combo of Millet, Sorghum, Sweet Brown and Sweet White Rice flours. I left out Arrowroot, which is my go-to starch, and I guess that’s why the mix was so thin. The crepes themselves held together very well with the mix of the rice flours so I guess I just need to adjust my ratios a bit.

The breakdown then:

300g Sorghum Flour
300g Millet Flour
200g Sweet Rice Flour
200g Sweet Brown Rice Flour

Guess I need to make that 150g of each rice flour and 100g Arrowroot. I’ve found that using too much Arrowroot leaves kind of a powdery texture behind so I’m trying to use less of it if I can.

As for the pancakes/crepes, I used a recipe off of the powdered buttermilk container I was using:

1 cup flour
4 tbsp buttermilk powder(or 1 cup milk/buttermilk)
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 cup water(leave out if using real milk/buttermilk)
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 egg

Mix dry ingredients
Add wet ingredients, whisk until just combined. Don’t over whisk.

Cook on a oiled pan or griddle at med to med low heat.

My mixture was too thin, but made some yummy thin crepes. YMMV.

Leave a Reply

