C25k: Grad week

I’d intended just to bump something to the front page but here’s a fresh entry, why not? I’ve finally reached Week 9 of Couch to 5k, in a mere 12 weeks or so. I can now run over 30 minutes at a time, tho I still don’t appear to be able to go over 2.5 miles. At least not that I’ve tried to.

I feel pretty awesome now, aside from a nerve in my lower back that makes running really, really painful sometimes. I’m down to 161 from a high of 184, I don’t wheeze when I run anymore, or not much anyway. I have a pretty sweet running pouch with a squeeze bottle and stuff and I know that there are some things I just shouldn’t eat prior to runs. Looking at you, bananas.

I also know that the whole point of this was to try to get rid of the type-2 diabetes that’s been the bane of my existence for the past 10 years now. Mission not so accomplished there. I’m not taking insulin anymore, which is great for my tanning and my overall moods. My sugars still hover around 200 tho, which is not so great. I feel awesome but I know it’s just a matter of time before something happens. Hopefully that something is the sudden return of my sugars to normal or close enough. Dream big, right?

Anyway, Day 2 should be tonight. Hopefully I’ll be able to do a straight 30-minute run without interruptions or equipment malfunctions. We shall see.

Leave a Reply

