C25k: Week 4, Day 1 redux

To quote myself on Facebook and Twitter: “I FUCKING DID IT!!!!!”

I not only did the 3 minute/5 minute rotation twice, but it was nearly effortless. I didn’t feel the normal drain at the end like I normally do, and that just made me feel awesome. I did feel some new pains in my legs, and an old familiar one in my left knee. That’s a back issue and it tells me I need to add the yoga program I’ve been procrastinating on to my off days. I need to get my core strengthened up.

Honestly, though? The way I feel today, the pain may just be an adjustment. I’m not nearly as sore as I thought I may be and that run yesterday was far and away the most I’ve done so far. It may have something to do with the 15-minute cooldown I had to do. It seems I got a little overzealous on my road route, left myself with about a half-mile walk home. Didn’t mind that at all though.

So hopefully I can do this 2 more times this week and then move on to Week 5. The super happy fun week that ends with me running for 20 minutes straight. And I just got 5 down…heh….

2 thoughts on “C25k: Week 4, Day 1 redux

  1. You are doing AWESOME. I am so effin proud.

    I bet your cooldown walk did help. You should make yourself do more of them. You could also try a warmup workout before the run, and stretching after the run.

    Little known fact: Stretching before a run doesn't help, in fact it may slow you down. Warm up before, stretch and cool down after!

    Like

  2. That's so awesome!! You're going to ROCK week 5. Best advice I got was go slow… a slow run is still a run!

    I do a weekly yoga class (1.5 hrs – and it's not beginner so it's a good warm-up) and I like to do at least on of my weekly runs after doing yoga. I know Melissa says stretching doesn't help, but I think of my yoga more as an extended warm-up than just stretching (it's not hot yoga, but I work up a sweat easily). I always feel like running is easier after than if I just go out cold.

    I'd be curious it's the same for you.

    Also… you might want to check into Chi Running to help with the core strenght/form that might be making your old knee injury act up. I'm doing a seminar this weekend and I'll likely blog about it if I'm not completely whipped… I'm the idiot that scheduled a 5K in the morning and a running seminar in the afternoon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

